On Cheshire Street, and the nicest shop in East London

fabric

I think Shop is my favourite shop in London. Mostly because it reminds me of my grandmother’s house… full of bright aprons, and crocheted teatowels, and beautiful vintage dresses, and buttons and scarves and rugs. And piles and piles of fabrics from the thirties and eighties and every era in between.

The staff are always friendly and there is no sense of the piss being taken in terms of pricing. When I was in one time a girl basically upended a chest full of buttons all over the floor (accidentally), and the owner just came over and said don’t worry, I’ll sort it out. How often do you see that in London?

dummies

They’ll even let you take stuff outside to check the colour (that wasn’t me, it was my sister, she’s a canny shopper). It’s very cramped, but somehow the grandma’s house atmosphere permeates the very mood of customers, so everyone behaves themselves and moves out of the way for each other. None of that primal scrabbling you get on the high street, all very pleasant. The owner encourages you to open up drawers and pull out more fabric (again, that was my sister), and then just quietly cleans up afterwards. And this patient approach actually works. We ended up dropping a good eighty quid between us, god knows how.

If only more shops would display this very simple, old-fashioned customer service. 

The Shop, 3 Cheshire Street, London E26ED. Tel 020 7739 5631

Open: Wed-Sat 11-6pm & Sunday 9.30 – 5pm

exteir 2

6 Comments

Filed under Shopping

6 responses to “On Cheshire Street, and the nicest shop in East London

  1. Kristina - no penny for them & mostly berlin

    wow, you’ve got one very cool blog here! will certainly bookmark it for my next visit to london. don’t know east london half as much as i’d like to.

    thanks also for visiting my blog, hope you’ll find some ideas for your berlin trip there. do drop me a line if you’re looking for something in particular and don’t find it there.

  2. Zoe

    Thanks Kristina… to be honest I don’t know east london as well as I’d like to either, that’s why I started the blog…. to make me get outside and look around. I have bookmarked your blog and will be back.

  3. I am going to visit my friends in London on the end of October.
    I must see this Shop!
    Thank`s a lot:)

  4. This is also my favourite shop! Just got a beautiful patchwork quilt there and some Sanderson curtains.

Leave a Reply

